April 8, 2010

Restaurant Review: Buffalo Wild Wings

Buffalo Wild Wings

UPDATE: According to various sources (thanks readers! see end of post), the Boca burger is not vegan or vegetarian, and everything fried on the menu is fried in LARD. Eat at your own risk...

Your standard sports bar and grill--where meat, of course, is the specialty. We're talking "sauce-spun wings," ribs, and "beefy burgers." They do have their own line of 14 signature sauces, including Sweet BBQ, Spicy Garlic, Mango Habanero, and Asian Zing. I wonder how many of these are actually vegetarian, but I suppose that's a later post. So in the place telling me "You've got to be here," what's a veggie to eat?

Buffalo Wild Wings Boca Burger
from L to R: Mango Lemonade, about $3. Veggie Burger (or Boca Burger), about $10. Buffalo Chips, additional charge.

Behold the chain's Veggie Burger...actually, a Boca burger, which I like. I sometimes tire of being offered the standard Gardenburger "real" veggie burger: hey in a place like this, I want to feel like I'm actually eating meat. And Boca has that down--the meaty grilled flavor, the hearty meat-like texture, the slightly charred edges--yum! Mine came with shredded iceberg lettuce, tomato and red onion slices, and a pickle on the side. The burger doesn't come with cheese, but I added it (choice of cheddar, Swiss, or pepperjack)...I'm not sure if I was charged extra or not. This was all atop a big soft white Kaiser roll, which was a little too soft and thick: toasting the bun would have made a HUGE difference. Overall, I'd still get it again.

Your side options include french fries. A side salad, onion rings, or Buffalo Chips are extra. I opted for the Buffalo chips, as the server said I should try them out and recommended getting them "extra cripsy" because "they just taste a lot better that way." Done and done. I have to admit, I was expecting more of a homemade potato chip kinda thing...these are basically just horizontally cut fries. Don't get me wrong, they were good and came out hot and fresh. If I had the option of getting these over regular fries, I definitely would. I'd also say they're worth the extra charge.

I also tried the Mango Lemonade (other options were Wild and Huckleberry). This was basically regular ol' add-the-syrup-to-the-water lemonade, with extra mango-flavored syrup added to that. Yes, it was good...but I think I'd try the Huckleberry next time.

Eat here again? Probably...knowing that my options are limited, but thank God for Boca...and a full bar! I'd also like to check out the ingredient listings on those sauces...could make for some good tofu marinades!



Buffalo Wild Wings (nationwide)

26 comments:

  1. well I'll be damn. I was there last night. I didn't know they had this!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I recently went to a Buffalo Wild Wings for a work function. As a vegetarian I knew my options would be limited but I didn't know HOW limited. After carefully plotting what we could eat our waitress kindly offered us the information that everything is fried in LARD!

    An email to Buffalo Wild Wings confirmed: "In regards to the frying oil, we use a Beef Tallow Shortening from Cargill to fry all of our products. The Shortening ingredient Statement Lists: Deodorized Beef Tallow, BHT and Citric Acid (to protect flavor), Dimethylpolysiloxane (added as a stabilizer)."

    That's right, you can order the Boca burger but the fries that come with it (or anything else including the nachos (!) and garlic mushrooms (!) are all fried in LARD!

    Bummer.

    ReplyDelete
  3. A Veggie Buffalito can be ordered even though it is not on the menu. It is 2 lettuce and tomato wraps that comes with tortilla chips and salsa. I like it better with sour cream on the side.

    ReplyDelete
  4. two of my brothers went to buffalo wild wings and a "friend" of mine works there. he said they should bring me in there but they said i was a vegetarian so i probably wouldn't go. he informed them that they do have a veggie burger but they cook it on the grill with the rest of the meat so it isn't really vegetarian.

    so i don't know if all of the restaurants do this or just that one but just a heads up.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Its vegetarian......just not vegan. Learn the difference.

      Delete
    2. ^^^ you don't have to be a dick about it. Cut an paste a definition or keep your smart ass comments to yourself.

      The difference between a vegan and a vegetarian is that vegans eliminate all animal products from their diet, including dairy and eggs. Those following a vegan lifestyle generally do not wear leather and avoid products made from animals such as wool, silk and down. Vegans' tremendous compassion for animals is an abiding, overriding conviction in their lives.

      Vegetarians do not eat meat, fish or poultry but they tend to consume dairy products and eggs. Lacto-vegetarians consume dairy products but not eggs, ovo-vegetarians eat eggs but not dairy products and lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat eggs as well as dairy products. Vegetarians also do not eat products that contain gelatine or other meat-based products.

      Delete
    3. ^^^ Nice to see a rude response. Explain it or keep your attitude to yourself.

      The difference between a vegan and a vegetarian is that vegans eliminate all animal products from their diet, including dairy and eggs. Those following a vegan lifestyle generally do not wear leather and avoid products made from animals such as wool, silk and down. Vegans' tremendous compassion for animals is an abiding, overriding conviction in their lives.

      Vegetarians do not eat meat, fish or poultry but they tend to consume dairy products and eggs. Lacto-vegetarians consume dairy products but not eggs, ovo-vegetarians eat eggs but not dairy products and lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat eggs as well as dairy products. Vegetarians also do not eat products that contain gelatine or other meat-based products.

      Delete
  5. another employee told me they fry everything that is fried in beef lard. Just an FYI

    ReplyDelete
  6. I usually never trust the 'vegetarian' food at these types of places. You never know what kinds of oil, grease or sprays they may be using that contain animal fats.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thanks for posting this -- I was there last night and avoided eating anything fried. Write to them and encourage them to switch to vegetable oil -- healthier for all.

    I checked their nutritional info online and it lists:

    1. Frying Oil Ingredient Statement: Deodorized Beef Tallow, BHT and Citric Acid (to protect flavor), Dimethylpolysiloxane (added as a stabilizer).

    http://www.buffalowildwings.com/downloads/bww_allergen_list.pdf

    ReplyDelete
  8. I went here recently and didn't check online to see. I assume most places are plain ol' oil these days. I even asked the staff about vegetarian options. You'd think they'd mention the beef fat part :( So mad. I emailed customer service and hope others do too! Argh!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Does anyone know anything about their macaroni and cheese?

    ReplyDelete
  10. Went there today and ordered the black bean burger with a salad. I love beans and was hoping the burger would taste good. Well, it was great. It came with tomatoes, onions, and lettuce. Next time I will see if they can make it with a whole wheat bun or I'll skip the bun all together.

    The only thing that worries me are all the actual ingredients that are in the burger. Everything that sounds healthy isn't always. Because I'm very health conscious, I rarely eat out. It can be difficult to really find out every single thing inside your food. But, as long as you're not allergic to anything, hopefully one time will not hurt.

    ReplyDelete
  11. The food is not made in Lard. Lard is pig fat. The fried foods are made in Beef fat. Big difference

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are an idiot. Call it whatever you want, but it is still animal fat and not vegetarian.

      Delete
  12. What difference besides the higher saturated fat in beef fat?
    It is still extracted from what is removed from the carcasses of animals very likely from a warehoused existence fed an unnatural diet of grains along with hormones and then antibiotics, all to allow a very fast growth rate instead of simply grazing on green plants outdoors.

    On the other hand McDonalds used the same process - about 20 years ago that is.

    ReplyDelete
  13. It appears the post is out of date, that BWW has switched to the Black Bean patty instead of BOCA burger patty.
    Fine by me.

    Davis can search at the websites of the likely patty suppliers for full ingredient lists.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I ate there last night and was informed by the manager that the black bean burger has beef in it and is not a vegetarian option.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Found your blog last night, emailed BWW because I was wondering if they had changed in the few years since this post. Nope! Thanks for letting people know about this! I encourage others to also write to them about using beef fat to fry their foods. If they get enough emails, maybe they'll take notice.

    Response from district manager:

    We do cook our fried foods in beef tallow shortening. This is a decision that has been made by corporate Buffalo Wild Wings and something as a franchisee we have no control over.



    I am glad that you wrote in about the shortening so that hopefully at some point we can change this. We are happy to suggest any other options available to you vegetarian wise. In fact we have added some great new salads to this quarter’s limited time offerings that can easily be made vegetarian.



    Thank you so much for your comments and I am sure that they were heard by the appropriate people and that we will see a change in the future regarding our shortening selection.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Please do not petition BWW to change their oil. I am allergic to SOY and BWW is one of the few restaurants I can eat at.

      Delete
    2. Wrong blog...

      Delete
  16. I think ur all stupid. If u r a true vegetarian y wood u bow down and eat at a place called Buffalo Wild Wings. You know what it's calle

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sometimes you are part of a group. Sometimes it is a social outing and you are not making the call and you make the best of it. Is that stupid?

      Delete
    2. You narrow-minded, simpleton...

      Delete
  17. I'm Muslim and I love to eat at WE but if they cook in lard then I CAN'T eat there anymore. Can the main B WW district please let us know what oil they use to cool all their food please... Muslims cannot eat in LARD..

    ReplyDelete
  18. Oil/grease is not the only thing that their products are fried in. When they put the wrong sauce on wings and they get sent back to the kitchen, the cook simply throws the sauced wings back in the fryer for a moment to "wash" off the sauce. Then they re-spin in the correct sauce. The fryer ends up full of sauce and then that nasty combination ends up tainting the rest of the food that is fryed in it. That's why you will be up half the night refluxing a funky greasy after taste and have heartburn. Nasty Nasty Nasty!!!

    ReplyDelete